The burden of guilt

Strangers on a Train - Patricia Highsmith

In the tradition of Crime and Punishment, this book concentrates more on the psychological impact of guilt on an otherwise healthy mind than on the murders. Charles is a disturbing yet believable villain, while Guy makes an interesting anti-hero. Few of the other characters are developed beyond two dimensions but somehow that doesn't impact negatively on the story.